NYM Volunteer Fire Department

 Photo of New York Mills Fire Department members standing in front of yellow fire truck


         The New York Mills Fire Department serves 160 square miles in Northeast Otter Tail County, proudly serving the cities of New York Mills, Butler and Heinola.  We also serve all or parts of Newton, Deer Creek, Leaf Lake, Butler, Homestead and Big Pine townships.  The department provides both fire and EMS to our 3500 citizens in our fire district.  Our department provides initial emergency care with 10 EMT's and 10 First Responders.  Advanced Life Support Ambulances from Perham and Wadena transport to area hospitals.
The New York Mills Fire Department's fleet of vehicles includes: 2 Engines, 1 Pumper/Tanker, 1 Tanker/Tender, 1 Pumper, 2 Brush/Grass Rig, 1 Rescue/Service Truck,1 Battalion and 1 UTV.   The department also has the first two motorized vehicles purchased by the department, a 1923 Model T Engine and a 1936 Engine.  Some of the specialized tools we carry are:  The Jaws of Life, Thermal Imager, CO Monitor, AED's (4) and an array of medical equipment.
        The New York Mills Fire Department consists of twenty-one members.  All members are required to complete the National Fire Protection Association Firefighter I Course and MN Certified First Responder Course or the National Registry EMT Basic Certification.  Meetings and drills are held twice a month, additional training is held as needed.                         



 Members and the Year they Joined Include:

Reed Jacobson      1999
Matt Geiser             2003
Darin Wegscheid    2004
Bryce Bernu            2008
Shanon Kline          2009     
Ryan Brasel            2010
Jedd Wallgren         2010
Nic Pederson           2013
Tyler Wegscheid      2015
Kacee Skoog           2017
Keenan Heising       2017
Logyn Saewert        2011
Nick Roder              2011
Brandon Marsh       2017
Amanda Berg         2017
Bobby Berndt          
Kurt Fahlen             2018
Kyle Vorderbruggen 2021
Gabe Geiser            2022
Tyler Muehler           2022


2023 Officers:

Chief:                        Ryan Brasel
1st  Assistant Chief:  Nick Roder
2nd Assistant Chief: Jedd Wallgren
Safety Officer:          Shanon Kline
Rescue Captain:      Logyn Saewert
Training Officer:       Bryce Bernu
Secretary:                Kurt Fahlen
Treasurer:                Nic Pederson
Maintenance:           Shanon Kline & Kacee Skoog